Annual European Rheology Conference (AERC 2022)

Non Newtonian Fluid Mechanics and Computational Rheology

Professor Ken Walters
Institute Of Mathematics, Physics and Computer Science
Aberystwyth University

Applied Mathematician and Rheologist
1934 – 2022
Profile from Aberystwyth University


Ken Walters was a Distinguished Emeritus Professor at the Aberystwyth University. He graduated at the University of Wales, Swansea, in Applied Mathematics in 1956 and was awarded the M Sc degree in 1957 and the PhD degree in 1959 for research into Rheology. In 1985 he was awarded a D Sc degree by the University of Wales. In the years he was also awarded an Honorary Doctorate by the University Joseph Fourier, Grenoble, France, in 1998, by Strathclyde University, Scotland, in 2011, and by Aberystwyth University in 2016.

Ken Walters was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1991, and, in 1995, he was elected a Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Engineering of the United States and became a Member of it in 2014. In 2009, Ken Walters became a Founding Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales and from 2010 - 2015, he was a member of the Science Advisory Council for Wales (SACW).

Ken Walters commitment to the rheology community was extraordinary. Indeed, between 1974-76, he was President of the British Society of Rheology and received a Gold Medal from the Society in 1984. Ken Walters was one of the founders of the European Society of Rheology and from 1996-2000, he was its first President. Between 2000-2004, he was Chairman of the International Committee on Rheology. Ken Walters was also the Executive Editor of the Journal of Non-Newtonian Fluid Mechanics from its launch in 1976 until 2002.

In 2002, Ken Walters received the Weissenberg Award from the European Society of Rheology.

Ken Walters passed away on March, 28th 2022. Ken’s kindness, enthusiasm and genuine interest in people meant that we all regarded him as a friend rather than a colleague or collaborator. We will miss Ken a lot and I am sure that he will be missed by generations of rheologists across the world who, however, will continue to study rheology and non-Newtonian fluid mechanics throughout the years on his five books.

Written by Mario MInale, President of the European Society of Rheology